关闭 x  
     
关闭 x
智能交易托管服务申请

请提供以下信息
(全为必填)

X My Account Secure Account Login Login

关闭 x
Online Security

Secure login
Ensuring the security of your personal information is of paramount importance to us. When you sign in to the trading platform, your User ID and password are secure.

The moment you click Login, we encrypt your User ID and password using 128-bit Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) technology.

Browser security indicators
You may notice when you are on our website that some familiar indicators do not appear in your browser to confirm the entire page is secure. Those indicators include the small "lock" icon in the bottom right corner of the browser frame and the "s" in the Web address bar (for example, "https").

To provide the fastest access to the trading platforms, we have made signing in to trading platforms secure without making the entire page secure. Again, please be assured that your ID and password are secure.

关闭 x
我们希望向您致电并提供模拟账户的使用指导及其他关于我们产品、服务的信息。通过提交您的电话号码,您同意 FOREX.com通过电话和/或短信与您联络。
开通免费模拟账户
 
隐私政策

不同货币对的独特个性

作者: Brian Dolan

每个货币都有其不同的特性,本文将介绍几种主要货币的具体特性。

技术分析在外汇市场的适用性无庸置疑,然而,尤其是对於新进的交易者而言,如果因此认为所有的技术分析工具都具有同样的效果,这将导致交易成果大打折扣,也可能误导交易者以为一定有一种万用的技术工具,能在任何时间、有效地分析任何货币。然而,任何已有交易外汇经验的人士都知道这是不可能的,例如美元 / 日圆 (USD/JPY) 与美元 / 瑞郎 (USD/CHF) 的市场走势就完全不同。

这样看来,我们还有必要苦寻一种万用的技术分析工具吗?事实上,如果我们可以认清主要货币不同的特性并采用不同的技术策略,我们将有更大的机会提高交易成果,本文的目的即在于探讨一些主要货币的特性,并提出相应的技术分析策略。

主要货币

根据国际清算银行最近的统计,欧元 / 美元 (EUR/USD) 是外汇市场交易最活跃的货币对,仅此一种就占有每日全球交易量的 28% 。诸如 EUR/GBP 、 EUR/CHF 与 EUR/JPY 等欧元交叉盘,又更进一步推升欧元的交易量,而这些间接的作用通常与美元的走势相反。例如,在看淡美元的盘势中,市场抛售美元将具有提振欧元买气的效果。不过,对於那些交易量较小的货币对,例如 USD/CHF ,将会因为 EUR/CHF 的下跌而跟着下跌,进而导致市场卖出 EUR/USD 。

相较於其他主要货币对,这种双向走势经常会延缓欧元的走势,有利於短线双向炒作的交易者。从另一方面来说,这也意味 EUR/USD 经常会呈现冗长、看似没有方向性的技术性走法,不断地测试趋势线或费波那契关键价位。这也就是说,根据突破策略从事交易的人,将必须给予更大的空间: 20 到 30 点,来判定技术价位的突破有效性。另一个判定 EUR/USD 是否有效突破的方式,是看看 USD/CHF 以及 GBP/USD 这些交易量较小的货币对是否已经突破相对的技术价位,例如近日的高点,如此 EUR/USD 也将可能跟进,相反的,如果瑞郎与英镑在这些关键价位踟蹰不前, EUR/USD 也可能不会有突破性的走势。

变更自己的设定

就技术分析而言, EUR/USD 的这种盘势意味震荡指标是很适合的工具,不过交易者仍必须适当地变更一些参数设定,例如将期数提高,以应对 EUR/USD 特有的来回区间走势。图 1 显示了这种特性的走势。从这种特性来说,小於 30 分钟的短线指标有可能导致交易者落入上下波动的圈套,但是 MACD 这种势头指标则相当适合用来观察 EUR/USD ,尤其是因为它使用了加乘移动平均线,减少了错误性交叉讯号的发生。短线的势头背离现象则必须使用趋势线来确认它的真实性,而在较大幅度波动发生时, DMI 系统的有效性则较强,可用来观察方向性的趋势是否存在,此时交易者对於势头指标的读数则必须给予几分折扣,而把重心放在 DI+/DI- 的交叉讯号。

第二号人物

外汇市场第二号活跃的货币对是 USD/JPY ,占有全球每日交易量的大约 17% 。 USD/JPY 传统上是最具政治敏感性的货币对,美国政府屡屡使用汇率手段来与日本进行贸易谈判。如今中国已取代日本,成为美国在亚洲主要的贸易火线,但是, USD/JPY 仍然扮演着人民币与其他流通性不强货币的标竿,就这一点来讲, USD/JPY 经常因此在贸易或区域性地缘政治局势变动中,具有长期趋势性走势的特性。

然而,对於短线、每日的交易而言, USD/JPY 最重要的特徵是深受日本机构投资人与资产管理业的集体影响。鉴于日本特有的同侪文化,日本资产管理业经常在外汇市场同进退,使得日圆在某一相同或技术性的价位产生爆量,进而使得这些价位扮演着关键性的支撑或阻力,一旦这些价位失守,爆量性的停损单也会涌进,进而促使突破的量能大增。此外,日本投资界也具有集体进行某一交易的特性,他们经常会在某些期间将价位拉抬或压低至某水准,同时并将其交易价位调整至新的水准,例如在价位上升後,把限价单的价位提高。

日本投资界另一个常用的策略,是利用价格回档时机,趁机跟随更大的趋势囤积部位,例如,如果 USD/JPY 目前的价位是 115.00 而且趋势向上,日本投资界将於价格回档至诸如 114.75 、 114.50 、 114.25 以及 114.00 等主观性的价位加码买进,这也正是为何 USD/JPY 经常会在整数位形成支撑或阻力的原因,即使这些价位并不具任何技术性的地位。

趋势线

在技术性方面,先前的观察意味着趋势线分析也许是 USD/JPY 最重要的技术分析工具。由于日本投资界在重要的技术价位倾向于集体进场, USD/JPY 因此也比较少发生假突破现象。例如,除非市场能在某一技术阻力位吸纳大规模的卖单,否则该技术价位并不容易被突破,因此,只有当一个更大的市场趋势开展时,这种突破现象才会发生,而且该突破的有效性也将相当高。了解这些特性後,我们可以得知, USD/JPY 很适合使用停损单进行突破策略的交易者,而且诸如小时图或 15 分钟图的短线趋势线也相当有效,但是投资人也必须因此保持着短观的心态,重视每日收盘价位的意义。

Chart此外,日本投资界也相当重视阴阳烛图形结构,所以交易者最好能辨识各种重要的型态,例如十字、吊人、钳顶 / 钳底等,如图 2 所示。至於显着的趋势反转或停顿,美东每日下午 5 时的收盘蜡烛是相当可靠的指标。

至此,有关日圆的讨论也说明了 USD/JPY 具有维持数周趋势的原因,这意味交易者应该着重於趋势性的分析工具,像是移动平均线、 DMI 以及 Parabolic SAR 等工具,相较而言, RSI 、 MACD 或 Stochastics 等震荡指标,通常则较不管用,尤其是在日间的盘势中,即使震荡指标显示趋势可能反转,但是由於机构投资界的势力, USD/JPY 与其跟随震荡指标反转,它更经常出现的现象是横向走势,最后还是回归原本的趋势。最后,云顶图分析是另一个交易 USD/JPY 的重要趋势辨识系统,该工具可显示趋势与主要反转的讯号。

其他较次要货币

在看过先前两个最重要的货币对之後,我们现在来检视一下其他相对而言交易量较小的货币对 USD/CHF 以及 GBP/USD ,这对技术型的交易者具有较大的挑战。鉴于瑞士特有的中立国地位,瑞士成为全球投资天堂的角色也令瑞士法郎具有举足轻重的地位。根据估计,全球大约有三分 之一的私人资产是存放在瑞士,因此瑞士法郎也就成为仅次於美元的「避风港」货币,尤其在世界政治局势不稳时。如今, USD/CHF 的走势大抵是由美元整体的市场观点带动,而非由瑞士的基本面主导,瑞士央行主要的关注也是瑞郎相对於欧元的汇率,毕竟瑞士主要的贸易对口是欧盟国家,因此 瑞士的基本面通常仅反映在 EUR/CHF 交叉盘汇率上。

但是 USD/CHF 的交易量向来不大,使得此一货币对成为避险基金以及其他投机性基金利用市场波动获利的标的。较低的交易量以及较高的市场波动性,也令瑞郎成为美元的一个重 要领先指标。图 3 显示 USD/CHF 率先跌破一个主要日线图趋势线,一天之后, EUR/USD 以及 USD/JPY 才跟进突破相对的关卡。

在短期间的波动中,瑞士法郎同样也具有领先的效果,但是 USD/CHF 整体的波动性使得它出现假突破的现象变得稀松平常,而这些假突破经常是由停损单带动,所以价位在突破支撑与阻力大约 15-25 点之後又回到原本趋势区间乃是经常有的事。在强劲的趋势中, USD/CHF 的交易方向通常都具有一面倒的特性,不像 EUR/USD 具有来来回回的特色。

同样的,英镑 / 美元 (GBP/USD) 也深受交易量较小的影响而波动剧烈,并且在较巨幅的波动中呈现一面倒的方向性走势,不过,与瑞郎不同的是, GBP/USD 的走势同时受到英国与美国基本面的变化。

谨记风险管理

由于英镑与瑞郎的波动性强烈,交易者必须采取更为主动性的操作模式,尤其是有关风险的管理,例如交易量相对於停损水平的大小。至於在技术分析工具上,此二货币经常出现短线的假突破意味交易者必须特别谨守纪律,不但应该给予较大的假突破波动空间,例如 30-35 点,停损机制也万万不能忽略。就这方面来讲,低於 1 小时的线图趋势分析可能会出现许多不足为信的突破假讯号,因此建议使用 4 小时或日线图等较长期的图表来判定突破的有效性。一旦价位突破幅度超过误差范围,紧接着将发生的一面倒走势将有利於即时进场的交易者,此时预设停损进场单将可降低滑点的风险,如果冀望撷取到整个波段,则可在仓位设置一个移动式的 Trailing Stop 停损单。

预期较大的回调幅度

由于英镑与瑞郎的波动性较强,其回调幅度通常也都超过 61.8% ,但通常会在 76.4% 的比例稳住,此时短线的交易者很可能已经停损出局。短线的急冲回调超过 30 点,通常也是一个方向性波段结束的讯号,尤其是发生在当日盘间时,但是如果交易者想据此进行逆向交易,停损则必须放在价格的极高或极低位不远处。另一个适用于英镑与瑞郎这种具有爆发性走势货币的技术分析工具是 William %R ,但是交易者必须把参数放宽至 -10/-90 以因应其较大的波动性。一如其他所有超买 / 超卖讯号的震荡指标,交易者下单的前提是价格必须已经反转。

没有万用的工具

技术型的外汇交易者必须明了,由於不同的货币具有不同的特性,因此所采取的技术分析模式也会略有不同,例如虽然英镑与欧元对美元的交易都相当热络,但是彼此对美元的汇率变化模式并不尽相同,因此,根据货币不同特性采取不同的技术分析策略,交易者将有较大的机会在此市场获利。

Close Preview x  
     
Close x
Expert Advisor Hosting Request

Please provide the following information:
(All Fields Required)

X My Account Secure Account Login Login

Close x
Online Security

Secure login
Ensuring the security of your personal information is of paramount importance to us. When you sign in to the trading platform, your User ID and password are secure.

The moment you click Login, we encrypt your User ID and password using 128-bit Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) technology.

Browser security indicators
You may notice when you are on our website that some familiar indicators do not appear in your browser to confirm the entire page is secure. Those indicators include the small "lock" icon in the bottom right corner of the browser frame and the "s" in the Web address bar (for example, "https").

To provide the fastest access to the trading platforms, we have made signing in to trading platforms secure without making the entire page secure. Again, please be assured that your ID and password are secure.

Close x
Submit
 
Privacy policy

Currency Pairs

Tailoring Your Technical Approach to Currency "Personalities"

by: Brian Dolan

Every currency pair has qualities unique to it. Find out what those qualities are.

Much has been written about the suitability of technical analysis for trading in the currency markets. While this is undoubtedly true, it can leave traders, particularly those new to the currency markets, with the impression that all technical tools are equally applicable to all major currency pairs. Perhaps most dangerous from the standpoint of profitability, it can also seduce traders into searching for the proverbial silver bullet: that magic technical tool or study that works for all currency pairs, all the time. However, anyone who has traded forex for any length of time will recognize that, for example, dollar/Yen (USD/JPY) and dollar/Swiss (USD/CHF) trade in distinctly different fashions.

Why, then, should a one-size-fits-all technical approach be expected to produce steady trading results? Instead, traders are more likely to experience improved results if they recognize the differences between the major currency pairs and employ different technical strategies to them. This article will explore some of the differences between the major currency pairs and suggest technical approaches that are best suited to each pair's behavioral tendencies.

The Biggie

By far the most actively traded currency pair is euro/dollar (EUR/USD), accounting for 28 percent of daily global volume in the most recent Bank for International Settlements (BIS) survey of currency market activity. EUR/USD receives further interest from volume generated by the Euro-crosses (e.g. euro/British pound (EUR/GBP), EUR/CHF and EUR/JPY, and this interest tends to be contrary to the underlying U.S. dollar direction. For example, in a U.S. dollar-negative environment, the Euro will have an underlying bid stemming from overall U.S. dollar selling. However, less liquid dollar pairs (e.g. USD/CHF) will be sold through the more liquid Euro crosses, in this case resulting in EUR/CHF selling, which introduces a Euro offer into the EUR/USD market.

This two-way interest tends to slow Euro movements relative to other major dollar pairs and makes it an attractive market for short-term traders, who can exploit "backing and filling." On the other hand, this depth of liquidity also means EUR/USD tends to experience prolonged, seemingly inconclusive tests of technical levels, whether generated by trendline analysis or Fibonacci/Elliott wave calculations. This suggests breakout traders need to allow for a greater margin of error: 20-30 pips. (A pip is the smallest increment in which a foreign currency can trade with respect to identifying breaks of technical levels.) Another way to gauge whether EUR/USD is breaking out is to look to the less liquid USD/CHF and GBP/USD. If these pairs have broken equivalent technical levels, for example recent daily highs, then EUR/USD is likely to do the same after a lag. If "Swissy" and "Cable" (popular name for British pound) are stalling at those levels, then EUR/USD will likely fail as well.

Customize Your Settings

In terms of technical studies, the overwhelming depth of EUR/USD suggests that momentum oscillators are well-suited to trading the euro, but traders should consider adjusting the studies' parameters (increase time periods) to account for the relatively plodding, back-and-fill movements of EUR/USD. In this sense, reliance on very short-term indicators (less than 30 minutes) exposes traders to an increased likelihood of "whipsaw" movements. Moving average convergence divergence (MACD) as a momentum study is well-suited to EUR/USD, particularly because it utilizes exponential moving averages (greater weight to more recent prices, less to old prices) in conjunction with a third moving average, resulting in fewer false crossovers. Short-term (hourly) momentum divergences routinely occur in EUR/USD, but they need to be confirmed by breaks of price levels identified though trendline analysis to suggest an actionable trade. When larger moves are underway, traders are also likely to find the directional movement indicator (DMI) system useful for confirming whether a trend is in place, in which case momentum readings should be discounted, and might choose to rely on DI+/DI- crossovers for additional trade entry signals.

Second Place

The next most actively traded currency pair is USD/JPY, which accounted for 17 percent of daily global volume in the 2004 BIS survey of currency market turnover. USD/JPY has traditionally been the most politically sensitive currency pair, with successive U.S. governments using the exchange rate as a lever in trade negotiations with Japan. While China has recently replaced Japan as the Asian market evoking U.S. trade tensions, USD/JPY still acts as a regional currency proxy for China and other less-liquid, highly regulated Asian currencies. In this sense, USD/JPY is frequently prone to extended trending periods as trade or regional political themes (e.g. yuan revaluation) play out.

For day-to-day trading, however, the most significant feature of USD/JPY is the heavy influence exerted by Japanese institutional investors and asset managers. Due to a culture of intra-Japanese collegiality, including extensive position and strategy information-sharing, Japanese asset managers frequently act in the same direction on the yen in the currency market. In concrete terms, this frequently manifests itself in clusters of orders at similar price or technical levels, which then reinforce those levels as points of support or resistance. Once these levels are breached, similar clusters of stop loss orders are frequently just behind, which in turn fuel the breakout. Also, as the Japanese investment community moves en masse into a particular trade, they tend to drive the market away from themselves for periods of time, all the while adjusting their orders to the new price levels, for instance raising limit buy orders as the price rises.

An alternate tactic frequently employed by Japanese asset managers is to stagger orders to take advantage of any short-term reversals in the direction of the larger trend. For example, if USD/JPY is at 115.00 and trending higher, USD/JPY buying orders would be placed at arbitrary price points, such as 114.75, 114.50, 114.25 and 114.00, to take advantage of any pullback in the broader trend. This also helps explain why USD/JPY frequently encounters support or resistance at numerically round levels, even though there may be no other corresponding technical significance.

Take A Look at Trendlines

Turning to the technical side of USD/JPY, the foregoing discussion suggests trendline analysis as perhaps the most significant technical tool for trading USD/JPY. Because of the clustering of Japanese institutional orders around technical or price levels, USD/JPY tends to experience fewer false breaks of trendlines. For example, large-scale selling interest at technical resistance will need to be absorbed if the technical level is to be broken. This is likely to happen only if a larger market move is unfolding, and this suggests any break will be sustained. This makes USD/JPY attractive for breakout traders who employ stop-loss entry orders on breaks of trendline support or resistance. Short-term trendlines, such as hourly or 15 minutes, can be used effectively, but traders need to operate on a similarly short-term basis; daily closing levels hold the most meaning in USD/JPY. In terms of chart analysis, Japanese institutional asset managers rely heavily on candlestick charts (which depend heavily on daily close levels) and traders would be well-advised to learn to recognize major candlestick patterns, such as doji, hanging man, tweezer tops/bottoms and the like. When it comes to significant trend reversals or pauses, daily close (5 p.m. EST), candlesticks can be highly reliable leading indicators.

The yen discussion above also highlighted the factors behind the propensity of USD/JPY to trend over the medium-term (multiweek). This facet suggests traders should look to trend following tools such as moving averages (21- and 55-day periods are heavily used), DMI, and Parabolic SAR. (This refers to J. Welles Wilder Jr.'s Parabolic System. SAR stands for stop and reverse.) Momentum oscillators such as the relative strength index (RSI), MACD or stochastics should generally be avoided, especially intraday, due to the trending and institutional nature driving USD/JPY. While a momentum indicator may reverse course, typically suggesting a potential trade, price action often fails to reverse enough to make the trade worthwhile due to underlying institutional interest. Instead of reversing along with momentum, USD/JPY price action will frequently settle into a sideways range, allowing momentum studies to continue to unwind, until the underlying trend resumes. Finally, Ichimoku analysis (roughly translated as one-glance cloud chart) is another largely Japanese-specific trend identification system that highlights trends and major reversals.

A Look At Some Illiquid Currencies

Having looked at the two most heavily traded currency pairs, let's now examine two of the least liquid major currency pairs, USD/CHF and GBP/USD, which pose special challenges to technically oriented traders. The so-called Swissy holds a place among the major currency pairs due to Switzerland's unique status as a global investment haven; estimates are that nearly one-third of the world's private assets are held in Switzerland. The Swiss franc has also acted historically as a so-called "safe-haven" currency alternative to the U.S. dollar in times of geo-political uncertainty, but this dimension has largely faded since the end of the Cold War. Today, USD/CHF trades mostly based on overall U.S. dollar sentiment, as opposed to Swiss-based economic fundamentals. The Swiss National Bank (SNB) is primarily concerned with the franc's value relative to the euro, since the vast majority of Swiss trade is with the European Union, and Swiss fundamental developments are primarily reflected in the EUR/CHF cross rate.

Liquidity in USD/CHF is never very good, and this makes it a favorite "whipping horse" for hedge funds and other speculative interests looking to maximize the bang for their buck. The lower liquidity and higher volatility of Swissy also makes it a significant leading indicator for major U.S. dollar movements. Swissy will also lead the way in shorter-term movements, but the overall volatility and general jitteriness of USD/CHF price action makes false breaks of technical levels common. These false breaks are frequently stop-loss driven and it is not unusual for prices to trade 15-25 points through a support/resistance level before reversing after the stop losses have been triggered. In strong directional moves, USD/CHF price action tends toward extreme one-way traffic, with minimal backing and filling in comparison to EUR/USD.

Cable (GBP/USD), or sterling, also suffers from relatively poor liquidity and this is in part due to its higher pip value (U.S. dollars) and the relatively Euro-centric basis of U.K. trade. Sterling shares many of the same trading characteristics of Swissy outlined just above, but Cable will also react sharply to U.K. fundamental data as well as to U.S. news. Sterling's price action will also display extreme one-way tendencies during larger moves, as traders caught on the wrong side chase the illiquid market to the extremes.

Focus On Risk Management

The volatility and illiquidity of Swissy and sterling suggests traders need to use a more proactive overall approach to trading these pairs, particularly concerning risk management (i.e. position size in relation to stop levels). With regard to technical tools, the tendency for both pairs to make short-term false breaks of chart levels suggests breakout traders need to be particularly disciplined concerning stop entry levels and should consider a greater margin of error on the order of 30-35 points. In this sense, trendline analysis of periods less than an hour tends to generate more noise than tradable break points, so a focus on longer time periods (four hours-daily) is likely to be more successful in identifying meaningful breaks. By the same token, once a breakout occurs, surpassing the margin of error, the ensuing one-way price action favors traders who are quick on the trigger, and this suggests employing resting stop-loss entry orders to reduce slippage. For those positioned with a move, trailing stops with an acceleration factor, such as parabolic SAR, are well suited to riding out directional volatility until a price reversal signals an exit. Of course, placing contigent orders may not necessarily limit your losses.

The volatility inherent in Cable and Swissy makes the use of short-term (hourly and shorter) momentum oscillators problematic, due to both false crossovers and divergences between price/momentum that frequently occur in these time frames. Longer-period oscillators (four hours and more) are best used to highlight potential reversals or divergent price action, but volatility discourages initiating trades based on these alone. Instead, momentum signals need to be confirmed by other indicators, such as breaks of trendlines, Fibonacci retracements or parabolic levels, before a trade is initiated.

Try A Larger Retracement

With regard to Fibonacci retracement levels, the greater volatility of Cable and Swissy frequently sees them exceed 61.8-percent retracements, only to stall later at the 76.4-percent level, by which time most short-term Elliott wave followers have been stopped out. Short-term spike reversals of greater than 30 points also serve as a reliable way to identify when a directional surge, especially intraday, is completed, and these can be used as both profit taking and counter-trend trading signals. For counter-trend, corrective trades based on spike reversals, stops should be placed slightly beyond the extreme of the spike low/high. A final technical study that is well suited to the explosiveness of Swissy and sterling is the Williams %R, an overbought/oversold momentum indicator, which frequently acts as a leading indicator of price reversals. The overbought/oversold bands should be adjusted to -10/-90 to fit the higher volatility of Cable and Swissy. As with all overbought/oversold studies, however, price action needs to reverse course first before trades are initiated.

It's Not One Size Fits All

Traders who seek to apply technical trading approaches to the currency market should be aware of the differences in the trading characteristics of the major currency pairs. Just because the euro and the pound are both traded against the dollar does not mean they will trade identically to each other. A more thorough understanding of the various market traits of currencies suggests that certain technical tools are better suited to some currency pairs than others. A currency-specific approach to applying technical analysis is more likely to produce successful results than a one-size-fits-all application across all currency pairs.

Not ready to open an account? Open a Free Practice Account OR Take a Guided Tour

Have more questions?

Chat Live Now or call 1 877 FOREXGO